Hello February!

Hello February!

Well, the first week of February has come and gone. We had a huge snow storm here in Nebraska. Luckily, Omaha wasn’t hit too bad! Phew! I’m tired of shoveling snow…

Friday night I went to Happy Hour for my monthly female friends meet up. It was great seeing them all again and getting to know the ladies I’m not friends with better. It’s a great group of women! Then, I worked on this sweet gift for my boyfriend. I really hope he likes it. It was inexpensive but definitely a lot of thought on my part went into it (with love of course).

This week’s recipes were pretty good. Much better than last week’s flops. Ended up throwing out 3 servings of the chicken chili….I just couldn’t make myself eat it. I tried. I just couldn’t do it. 😦

Sweet Potato Sloppy Joes from Paleo Newbie. <I’ve figured out how to hyperlink! Yay!

image

Overall: This recipe was good. However, it made me crave bread. I guess Sloppy Joe’s on bread are engrained on my brain! Add that to the fact that the only sweet potatoes at Natural Grocers this week were gigantic. The sweet potato to Joe ratio was way too high. Less potato, more Slop needed.

Cost: Very reasonable. 🙂

Ease: Super easy and fast to make. Cooking the sweet potatoes took the longest.

Slow Cooker Paleo Chicken Teriyaki also from Paleo Newbie.

image

Overall: Yum! I paired it with rice and broccoli. I recommend adding in the pepper flakes. I forgot them and it was slightly on the bland side without them.

Cost: Reasonable 🙂

Ease: Super easy, mix everything and throw the chicken on top to cook for hours. Shred up the chicken and throw it back in for a bit. Wa-la! Done!

Up for next week:

Goulash – No recipe known… I’ll be winging it! If it turns out delicious, I’ll share! I’m going to attempt to replace the noodles with spaghetti squash. I’ll measure out my ingredients as I go so I can post.

Japanese Hot Pot Soup – from the 21-Day Superhero challenge! Yummy! I can’t wait to make this again! I didn’t add the sesame sauce last time. Maybe I’ll get crazy and try it?

SuperHero Challenge Recipe:

  • 1 box bone broth, chicken broth, orbeef broth
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds (optional)
  • 1-2 tsps ground ginger (can also use fresh ginger, but remove after cooking)
  • 1-2 tsps ground turmeric
  • 2-3 cups mushrooms of choice, diced
  • 2 stalks green onions, diced
  • ½ head of cabbage, diced finely
  • ¼ red onion
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bring to almost a boil and let simmer all together in a giant pot. Add in your choice of meat, 1 pound total (I like a cheap steak.)

Makes 3 servings. Add diced avocado on top OR homemade sesame sauce:

Sesame sauce:

  • 3 tablespoons tahini
  • 3 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon coconut aminos
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seed oil

Don’t forget to check back with me next week!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

